45hzMIX009 – Pressa

May 31, 2011 § 3 Comments

Joe Pressa is pushing what can only be described as pure weight. Whether on a dubstep or slight jungle flex, his skills behind the buttons always make for fresh, crisp sounding beats whilst still giving a nod to the old school.

Name – Joe aka Pressa
Age – 26
Location – Outskirts of south east London/north west Kent
Years Producing – Got my first laptop in 2006, been dabbling a bit longer.
Years Mixing – 11 years, garage then dnb and then dubstep/140ish

Easy man, how are things?

Easy, things are good at the moment. I was without my laptop for a while, now it’s fixed it’s all good.

Why did you select the tunes you did for the mix?

I chose the tunes I did because it reflects what I have been playing out recently, from deep n dark to more dancefloor orientated styles of dubstep.

Could you give us a little background as to how you got into dubstep, do you have a past history of being involved with bass heavy music?

I’ve always been in to bass heavy music, I grew up listening to oldskool hardcore, jungle and garage and that as my older brother and sister were in to it. I got my first pair of decks when I was 15 and started mixing garage, I soon got in to dnb and then moved in to dubstep and sub heavy beats at a slower pace.

What releases do you have forthcoming?

I’ve got material forthcoming on Orientis and Top Drawer as well as other labels which I’m going to keep quiet about for now as they aren’t 100% confirmed.

Who are you rating at the moment in both the UK and further afield?

All the Orientis Records gang are making some wicked deep and dark tunes. Bojcot Selectah from Holland is making some really good 140 jungle/future jungle (whatever you want to call it). There is so much good stuff being made at the moment here in the UK and abroad.

Any shouts you’d like to give?

Yeah shout out to all my fam – Thelem, Lucas, Crises, Fish and everyone who’s been supporting, big ups!

Pressa Soundcloud

Vodpod videos no longer available.

§ 3 Responses to 45hzMIX009 – Pressa

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 45hzMIX009 – Pressa at 45hz.

meta

